Private profile information can now be hidden from individual users in the Messenger app. The company announced this on Twitter on Thursday. WhatsApp has been presenting the new option since September 2021; now it has arrived in the app – both on Android and on the iPhone as well as in the web app.
Until now, WhatsApp only knew three settings when it came to displaying profile information: Everyone, My Contacts and Nobody. You could either make your own profile picture, the short info text about it and the online information available, hide it completely or limit it to the contact list.
My contacts except…
New option: “My contacts except…” hides WhatsApp profile data from individual users.
Since July 16, the additional option “My contacts except…” has been available in all three profile components. When you call this option, a list of all contacts appears. Individual contacts can be marked with a red tick at the touch of a finger and thus cut off from the information end. Previously, the only option was to completely delete the contact from the smartphone from the address book.
For Status, the component of the app where photos can be shared with contacts, the privacy options are limited to “My contacts”, “My contacts except” and “Only share with…”. So the new option is also represented here. Only the “Everyone” option is gone. It is also possible to define individually for groups who may add one.
That’s how it works
The settings can be found on the iPhone at the bottom right as a gear icon. In the Android version and in the web app, they are hidden behind a menu marked by three dots at the top right. On both systems you can access the profile settings via Account/Privacy.
To home page
#Profile #picture #status #chat #groups #WhatsApp #privacy #options