Robert Lewandowski was the main protagonist in Barcelona’s victory over Osasuna. The Pole caused a penalty and scored it, although the action was not without controversy. Catena crossed behind him and lightly touched his arm. The culé forward dropped when he noticed the slight contact and the referee Ortiz Arias did not hesitate and indicated the 11 meters.
The play was reviewed by the VAR, who called the referee to come and watch it again. However, when it seemed that what was being decided was whether to annul the penalty because it was considered that the contact was not enough to knock down Lewandowski, what the referee decided was to send off Catena. All, despite the fact that the penalty and expulsion rule was eliminated a few seasons ago.
Lewandowski, who had not had a great performance, appeared to give Barça the three points in a difficult place. After a considerable drop in the second half, Osasuna had tied in the final stretch and threatened to get a point. However, the Pole showed off his skill and experience. He noticed the contact, let himself fall and the referee declared a maximum penalty that he coldly transformed, deceiving Aitor, who went to the other side.
It was in the 85th minute, which practically sealed the game. Barça took the lead through their star. A Lewandowski who has started the season in a strange situation, since his performance has been called into question, after he has only scored two goals in the first four league games. Despite this, he saw the door again and was essential for the interests of Xavi’s team, just as happened last season, in which he was a key player in winning the title for his scoring contribution, especially in the first section. of the competition.
More articles related to Sports
The latest in Sports
#Lewandowski #gave #Barça #victory #controversial #penalty #slight #grab #Catena